Quick Answer: Does Archive Mean Delete?

How do I change Archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings.

Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete.

Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages..

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

What happens if I delete archived emails?

What happens when I archive or delete a message? Archive removes the message from your Inbox but keeps it in your account so that you can find it later. Delete moves the message to the Trash where it will be permanently deleted from your account after 30 days. Messages deleted from Trash can’t be recovered.

Do archived emails take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

Should I archive or delete emails?

Well, most people Delete their emails to free up space. When you decide to delete an email, it is sent to a trash folder. … It is better to archive your emails on Gmail, because you can place it in a folder where it will still exist but no longer be cluttering in your inbox.

How do I change Swipe left to delete?

Go to the upper left hand side of the screen. There are 4 lines (menu) by the search bar, click on that. Go down to your settings. Once you go to your settings there is an option that says “Swipe actions” once you hit that you can switch the actions that occur when you either swipe right or swipe left.

What is the difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps. … Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied.

How long do emails stay in archive?

The default period for your Draft and Inbox items is six months, and three months for your Sent Items, but you can change these periods using the Clean out items older than option. Archive or delete old items You must choose this option if you want AutoArchive to delete some or all items when they expire.

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.

How do I clean out my Gmail archive?

The Basics: Deleting Emails in GmailSelect “All”Then click “Select all XXXX conversations in Search results“Delete.

How do I retrieve archived emails?

Finding archived emails via mobile apps If you are using the Gmail mobile app on your iOS or Android device, you can also access archived content easily. As on the web, you can use the search bar displayed above your mail to initiate a search; it will include archived content.

What does it mean to archive?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

What happens to emails when you archive them?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it. When you mute a message: Any replies stay out of your inbox.

How do you change from archive to delete on Iphone?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.